Guinea Pig Monday: Mocha Cookies with White Chocolate and Butterscotch

mocha cookies with white chocolate and butterscotch, originally uploaded by sockmonkeyrevolt.

A confession: I’m not really much of a cookie person. I mean I like cookies and I have a lot of cookie recipes in my recipes to try queue, but I rarely bake them. I suppose I just like cakes and pies and other more complicated things more. Cookies are sort of an easy default (except of course macaroons.) I’m sure, sometime in the near future, I’ll fall prey to the current Whoopie Pie Madness, if for no other reason, it’s an excuse to buy another one use baking pan.  (I’m horrible with kitchen gadgets, actually I totally dream of say Food Network doing an adult version of those contests Nickelodeon used to have where kids get  10 minutes to run through Toys R Us and  keep whatever they could cram in a shopping cart, except it involves me and a Sur la Table.)

Cookies are perfect for when you want to bake a dessert, but you don’t really want to do anything. Sunday was like that for me. My grandmother is moving to an assisted living apartment complex in a couple of weeks, so the weekend I thought would be partially leisurely, turned into me spending 2 days helping my mom and dad try to figure out what was moving with her and packing up her house.  That wouldn’t really have been so bad if the heat index outside weren’t 105 and the air conditioning weren’t broken. By Sunday when I got home and pondered what Monday’s experimental bakey-goodness  would be, all I wanted to do was sit down and veg out. So cookies were the obvious choice.

These cookies are perfect for lazy baking. You beat 1 cup of room temp. butter, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 2 eggs,  and a teaspoon of vanilla until fluffy; then add 2 cups flour, 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder,  2 T instant espresso powder,  1 teasp baking soda and 1/4 teasp salt and mix until combined. Add 1 cup of white chocolate chips (This is the point at which I decided that butterscotch would be a perfect addition and changed it to 1/2 white chocolate and 1/2 butterscotch chips. The original recipe just called for instant coffee instead of espresso, but I hate coffee and only had instant espresso which I use for baking.)  The recipe just says to roll the batter into balls with no specific size, but  I just spooned out generous probably a little bigger than a tablespoon-sized  dollops a couple of inches apart on 2 baking sheets. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes (I found I needed to bake for about 14 minutes, but that might be partially my cookie size and partially my oven that sometimes works perfectly and sometimes is possessed by a gremlin. )  The original recipe is located on Jessica’s blog ‘How Sweet It Is’ (which currently has a lot of dangerously tasty looking recipes on the first page, I really shouldn’t visit food blogs when hungry.)

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Glad you liked these! :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

